Square Invoices vs PayPal Invoicing
Two invoicing & payments tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
PayPal Invoicing costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.Square Invoices fits retail shop, restaurant or café, trades or contractor.
PayPal Invoicing fits agency or studio, online store.Square Invoices suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free invoicing that shares a ledger with Square POS | Invoices clients can pay with PayPal, Venmo, or card |
| Starting price | Free | Free |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $0/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $336/mo | $309/mo |
| Plans | Square Free $0/mo: invoice card payments 3.3% + 30¢, ACH 1% ($1 min); Square Plus $49/mo per location: 2.9% + 30¢; Square Premium $149/mo per location: 2.9% + 30¢ | No monthly fee; PayPal or Venmo 3.49% + 49¢; cards 2.99% + 49¢; +1.5% international |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | |
| Also connects to | No others on record | Zoho Books, Akaunting, ZipBooks |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Every plan (US) | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Every plan |
| Support hours | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page | PayPal has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.7 / 5 from 123 reviews | 4.7 / 5 from 595 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 85 | 35 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 70 | 20 |
| Fit: Service business | 85 | 80 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 60 | 75 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 85 | 75 |
| Fit: Online store | 40 | 60 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Square Invoices | Visit PayPal Invoicing | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $500 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Square Invoices or PayPal Invoicing
Stripe Invoicing vs Square InvoicesStripe Invoicing vs PayPal InvoicingSquare Invoices vs Invoice NinjaSquare Invoices vs BILLSquare Invoices vs Zoho InvoiceSquare Invoices vs HoneyBookSquare Invoices vs BonsaiSquare Invoices vs MelioSquare Invoices vs JoistSquare Invoices vs HarvestSquare Invoices vs Invoice2goSquare Invoices vs eBillityInvoice Ninja vs PayPal InvoicingBILL vs PayPal InvoicingZoho Invoice vs PayPal InvoicingPayPal Invoicing vs HoneyBookPayPal Invoicing vs BonsaiPayPal Invoicing vs MelioPayPal Invoicing vs JoistPayPal Invoicing vs HarvestPayPal Invoicing vs Invoice2goPayPal Invoicing vs eBillity