QuickBooks Online vs Wave
Two accounting tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Wave costs less for a six-person team.
QuickBooks Online fits retail shop, restaurant or café, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
QuickBooks Online suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | The accounting software most US accountants already use | Free double-entry accounting and invoicing |
| Starting price | From $38/mo | Free |
| Six-person team | $38/mo | $0/mo |
| Plans | Simple Start $38/mo (1 user); Essentials $85/mo (3 users); Plus $140/mo (5 users); Advanced up to 25 users; every plan adds 2 accountant logins; list prices, with promotions often cutting the first 3 months | Free (bank transactions entered by hand); Pro $19/mo or $190/yr adds automatic bank imports and receipt capture; cards 2.9% + 60¢ |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free tier |
| Free trial | 30 days | — |
| Users | 1–25 depending on plan | 1 on free plan |
| Both connect to | Helcim, Shoeboxed, Wise Business | |
| Also connects to | Square POS, Toast, Gusto, Rippling, Homebase, Deel, Shopify, Squarespace Commerce +44 more800+ listed by the vendor | Wave Payroll15+ listed by the vendor |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · CA |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US) | None listed |
| Live chat | Every paid plan | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: Mon–Fri 6 AM–6 PM PT, Sat 6 AM–3 PM PT, Sun closed (Simple Start, Essentials, Plus), Mon–Fri 6 AM–7 PM PT, Sat–Sun 6 AM–3 PM PT (Advanced) · Phone: Monday- Friday 6am -6pm PST | Live chat: Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM Eastern, Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 4:45 PM Eastern |
| Incidents posted | 5 incidents posted on Intuit's status page, which covers all Intuit products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 2 marked major or critical by Intuit. Status page | 5 incidents posted on H&R Block's status page, which covers all H&R Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 1 marked major or critical by H&R Block. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.3 / 5 from 8,546 reviews | 4.4 / 5 from 1,731 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 3.1 / 5 from 558 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 92 | 71 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 88 | 60 |
| Fit: Service business | 90 | 85 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 85 | 70 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 92 | 75 |
| Fit: Online store | 80 | 55 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit QuickBooks Online | Visit Wave | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
QuickBooks Online: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with QuickBooks Online or Wave
QuickBooks Online vs XeroQuickBooks Online vs FreshBooksQuickBooks Online vs Zoho BooksQuickBooks Online vs PuzzleQuickBooks Online vs AkauntingQuickBooks Online vs KashooQuickBooks Online vs ZipBooksQuickBooks Online vs BenchQuickBooks Online vs Patriot AccountingQuickBooks Online vs KickQuickBooks Online vs PilotXero vs WaveWave vs FreshBooksWave vs Zoho BooksWave vs PuzzleWave vs AkauntingWave vs KashooWave vs ZipBooksWave vs BenchWave vs Patriot AccountingWave vs KickWave vs Pilot