SumUp vs SpotOn
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
SumUp costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
SumUp fits retail shop, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.SpotOn fits restaurant or café.
SpotOn suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Card reader and free POS app for low-volume sellers | Restaurant POS with published rates and 24/7 support |
| Starting price | Free | From $55/mo |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $55/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $300/mo | $359/mo |
| Plans | Free app, $0/mo; POS Plus $49/mo; SumUp POS from $99/mo; in-person 2.6% + 10¢; online or keyed 3.5% + 15¢ | Restaurants: POS Essentials $55/station/mo, month to month (2.45% + 15¢, keyed 3.45% + 15¢) plus implementation; All-In $0/station (2.79% + 20¢, 2-year term, minimums); retail Terminal $25/mo + $240 hardware |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Per station |
| Both connect to | No shared connections on record. | |
| Also connects to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | None in our catalog |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK | US |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US); plans not stated (UK) | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated (UK) | None listed |
| Support hours | Phone: POS & Loyalty: 9AM - 9PM ET 7 days per week, Card readers: 10AM - 7PM ET Mon. - Fri. | Phone: 24/7 for restaurant management, payment devices and hardware |
| Incidents posted | 11 incidents posted on SumUp's status page, which covers all SumUp products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by SumUp. Status page | 2 incidents posted on SpotOn's status page, which covers all SpotOn products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by SpotOn. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.8 / 5 from 17 reviews (few reviews) | 4.2 / 5 from 371 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.2 / 5 from 60,405 reviews | 4.6 / 5 from 625 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 78 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 50 | 90 |
| Fit: Service business | 75 | 40 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 15 | 5 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 72 | 20 |
| Fit: Online store | 30 | 15 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit SumUp | Visit SpotOn | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with SumUp or SpotOn
Square POS vs SumUpSquare POS vs SpotOnToast vs SumUpToast vs SpotOnShopify POS vs SumUpShopify POS vs SpotOnSumUp vs Lightspeed RestaurantSumUp vs HelcimSumUp vs LoyverseSumUp vs KORONA POSSumUp vs CloverSumUp vs TouchBistroSumUp vs eHopperLightspeed Restaurant vs SpotOnHelcim vs SpotOnLoyverse vs SpotOnKORONA POS vs SpotOnClover vs SpotOnSpotOn vs TouchBistroSpotOn vs eHopper