SumUp vs eHopper
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
SumUp costs less for a six-person team.
eHopper fits restaurant or café.
SumUp fits service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Card reader and free POS app for low-volume sellers | Cheap POS from $10 a month for one register |
| Starting price | Free | From $10/mo |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $10/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $300/mo | Your own card processor |
| Plans | Free app, $0/mo; POS Plus $49/mo; SumUp POS from $99/mo; in-person 2.6% + 10¢; online or keyed 3.5% + 15¢ | Billed yearly per register: Essential Plus $10/mo (1 register, 1,000 products, 1,000 transactions/mo); Freedom $20.99; Restaurant $24.49; OmniChannel $35.99; monthly $14.99/$24.99/$29.99/$39.99; free software offer requires eHopper processing; 30-day money-back |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | Xero | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK | US |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US); plans not stated (UK) | OmniChannel only |
| Live chat | Plans not stated (UK) | OmniChannel only |
| Support hours | Phone: POS & Loyalty: 9AM - 9PM ET 7 days per week, Card readers: 10AM - 7PM ET Mon. - Fri. | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 11 incidents posted on SumUp's status page, which covers all SumUp products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by SumUp. Status page | We found no public status page for eHopper. |
| Capterra score | 4.8 / 5 from 17 reviews (few reviews) | 4.3 / 5 from 66 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.2 / 5 from 60,405 reviews | 3.7 / 5 from 1 reviews (few reviews) |
| Fit: Retail shop | 78 | 72 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 50 | 65 |
| Fit: Service business | 75 | 40 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 15 | 5 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 72 | 20 |
| Fit: Online store | 30 | 30 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit SumUp | Visit eHopper | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with SumUp or eHopper
Square POS vs SumUpSquare POS vs eHopperToast vs SumUpToast vs eHopperShopify POS vs SumUpShopify POS vs eHopperSumUp vs Lightspeed RestaurantSumUp vs HelcimSumUp vs LoyverseSumUp vs KORONA POSSumUp vs CloverSumUp vs SpotOnSumUp vs TouchBistroLightspeed Restaurant vs eHopperHelcim vs eHopperLoyverse vs eHopperKORONA POS vs eHopperClover vs eHopperSpotOn vs eHopperTouchBistro vs eHopper