SumUp vs TouchBistro
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
SumUp costs less for a six-person team.
SumUp fits retail shop, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
TouchBistro fits restaurant or café.
TouchBistro suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Card reader and free POS app for low-volume sellers | iPad restaurant POS from $69 a month |
| Starting price | Free | From $69/mo |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $69/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $300/mo | Rates by quote |
| Plans | Free app, $0/mo; POS Plus $49/mo; SumUp POS from $99/mo; in-person 2.6% + 10¢; online or keyed 3.5% + 15¢ | POS software from $69/mo; Essentials Bundle (software, hardware, payments) from $119/mo; add-ons and custom plans by quote; hardware extra on the software plan; processing fees extra |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Both connect to | No shared connections on record. | |
| Also connects to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | None in our catalog |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK | US · CA |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US); plans not stated (UK) | Every plan |
| Live chat | Plans not stated (UK) | None listed |
| Support hours | Phone: POS & Loyalty: 9AM - 9PM ET 7 days per week, Card readers: 10AM - 7PM ET Mon. - Fri. | Phone: 24/7 · Email: 24/7 |
| Incidents posted | 11 incidents posted on SumUp's status page, which covers all SumUp products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by SumUp. Status page | We found no public status page for TouchBistro. |
| Capterra score | 4.8 / 5 from 17 reviews (few reviews) | 3.8 / 5 from 414 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.2 / 5 from 60,405 reviews | 1.4 / 5 from 351 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 78 | 15 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 50 | 90 |
| Fit: Service business | 75 | 15 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 15 | 5 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 72 | 5 |
| Fit: Online store | 30 | 10 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit SumUp | Visit TouchBistro | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with SumUp or TouchBistro
Square POS vs SumUpSquare POS vs TouchBistroToast vs SumUpToast vs TouchBistroShopify POS vs SumUpShopify POS vs TouchBistroSumUp vs Lightspeed RestaurantSumUp vs HelcimSumUp vs LoyverseSumUp vs KORONA POSSumUp vs CloverSumUp vs SpotOnSumUp vs eHopperLightspeed Restaurant vs TouchBistroHelcim vs TouchBistroLoyverse vs TouchBistroKORONA POS vs TouchBistroClover vs TouchBistroSpotOn vs TouchBistroTouchBistro vs eHopper