Square Appointments vs Modge

Two scheduling tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • Square Appointments costs less for a six-person team.
  • Square Appointments fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
  • Modge fits agency or studio, online store.
CompareSquare AppointmentsBlockModgeModge Inc.
In one lineFree booking with unlimited staff calendars and Square paymentsDesktop time tracking that monitors staff app use and screens, from $4 a seat
Starting priceFreeFrom $4/person
Six-person team$0/mo$24/mo
PlansFree $0/mo per location; Plus $49/mo per location; Premium $149/mo per location; in-person 2.6% + 15¢ on Free (2.5%/2.4% on Plus/Premium); online 3.3% + 30¢ on FreePer tracked seat, billed yearly (the default view): Basic $4/mo, Pro $5.50/mo, Premium $7/mo; billed monthly: Basic $5, Pro $7, Premium $9; Enterprise by quote (annual billing, volume pricing); Basic: automatic time tracking, app and URL tracking with AI productivity scores, idle detection, screenshots up to 18/hour with optional blur and 3-month retention, timesheets and approvals, payroll CSV (generic, Wise, PayPal) and PDF exports, client invoices, email and chat support; Pro adds shifts and scheduling with adherence scores, leave, breaks and overtime rules, client billing through your own Stripe account, on-demand screenshots, 12-month retention, custom roles, teams and project budgets; Premium adds suspicious activity and mouse-jiggler detection, burnout-risk and profitability reports, contract signing, 24-month retention, customized onboarding and a dedicated account manager; Enterprise adds custom retention and a priority response SLA; add-ons per seat: More Screenshots $2/mo (up to 60/hour), Extended Data Retention $2/mo ($1.67 billed yearly); viewers are free; seat changes are prorated; no seat minimum stated; 14-day free trial of the plan you pick, card required at sign-up; no free plan; macOS and Windows only, no mobile app
Pricing modelFree tierFree trial
Free trial—14 days
UsersUnlimited staff calendarsPer tracked seat; viewers free
Both connect toNo shared connections on record.
Also connects toNone in our catalogNone in our catalog
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people
Available inUS · UK · CA · AUUS · UK · CA · AU
Phone supportEvery plan (US)Plans not stated
Live chatPlans not statedEvery plan
Support hoursPhone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only)Not published
Incidents posted14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status pageWe found no public status page for Modge Inc..
Capterra score4.5 / 5 from 263 reviewsNot listed
Fit: Retail shop5015
Fit: Restaurant or café155
Fit: Service business9050
Fit: Agency or studio3085
Fit: Trades or contractor4510
Fit: Online store2040
Why people pick it
  • Free plan with unlimited staff
  • Payments and POS built in
  • Time, app use and screenshots from one desktop agent
  • From $4 per seat billed yearly
Where it falls short
  • No-show fees need Plus
  • Tied to Square payments
  • Desktop only: no mobile app or GPS clock-in
  • No direct payroll integrations, only CSV exports
Visit Square Appointments Visit Modge

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices

Modge: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.

More comparisons with Square Appointments or Modge

Every scheduling comparison