Square Appointments vs SimplyBook.me
Two scheduling tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Square Appointments fits retail shop.
SimplyBook.me fits restaurant or café, agency or studio, trades or contractor.
Square Appointments suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free booking with unlimited staff calendars and Square payments | Online booking with a free plan and flat team pricing |
| Starting price | Free | Free |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $0/mo |
| Plans | Free $0/mo per location; Plus $49/mo per location; Premium $149/mo per location; in-person 2.6% + 15¢ on Free (2.5%/2.4% on Plus/Premium); online 3.3% + 30¢ on Free | Free (50 bookings/mo, 1 provider); billed yearly: Basic $11.90/mo (100 bookings, 5 providers); Standard $24.90 (500, 15); Premium $49.90 (2,000, 30); monthly $13.90/$29.90/$59.90; 14-day trial |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | 14 days |
| Users | Unlimited staff calendars | 1 provider on free |
| Both connect to | No shared connections on record. | |
| Also connects to | None in our catalog | None in our catalog |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Every plan (US) | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) | Live chat: 24 hours on weekdays; on weekends chat messages answered twice a day |
| Incidents posted | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page | We found no public status page for SimplyBook.me. |
| Capterra score | 4.5 / 5 from 263 reviews | 4.6 / 5 from 1,293 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 4.5 / 5 from 804 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 50 | 35 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 15 | 25 |
| Fit: Service business | 90 | 85 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 30 | 60 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 45 | 65 |
| Fit: Online store | 20 | 20 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Square Appointments | Visit SimplyBook.me | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Square Appointments or SimplyBook.me
Homebase Scheduling vs Square AppointmentsHomebase Scheduling vs SimplyBook.meCalendly vs Square AppointmentsCalendly vs SimplyBook.meJobber vs Square AppointmentsJobber vs SimplyBook.meConnecteam vs Square AppointmentsConnecteam vs SimplyBook.meBuddy Punch vs Square AppointmentsBuddy Punch vs SimplyBook.meAcuity Scheduling vs Square AppointmentsAcuity Scheduling vs SimplyBook.meSquare Appointments vs When I WorkSquare Appointments vs SlingSquare Appointments vs SetmoreSquare Appointments vs VagaroSquare Appointments vs FreshaSquare Appointments vs BooksySquare Appointments vs PlandaySquare Appointments vs ModgeWhen I Work vs SimplyBook.meSling vs SimplyBook.meSetmore vs SimplyBook.meVagaro vs SimplyBook.meSimplyBook.me vs FreshaSimplyBook.me vs BooksySimplyBook.me vs PlandaySimplyBook.me vs Modge