Square Appointments vs Vagaro
Two scheduling tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Square Appointments costs less for a six-person team.
Square Appointments fits retail shop, agency or studio, trades or contractor.
Vagaro: Built for salons and spas.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free booking with unlimited staff calendars and Square payments | Salon and spa booking from $30 a month per location |
| Starting price | Free | From $30/mo + $10/extra person |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $80/mo |
| Plans | Free $0/mo per location; Plus $49/mo per location; Premium $149/mo per location; in-person 2.6% + 15¢ on Free (2.5%/2.4% on Plus/Premium); online 3.3% + 30¢ on Free | Per location: $30/mo for 1 calendar ($23.99 for the first 6 months); +$10/mo per extra calendar; 7 or more calendars $90/mo; 1,000 emails/mo included; 30-day trial; card fees not listed on the pricing page |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free trial |
| Free trial | — | 30 days |
| Users | Unlimited staff calendars | 1 calendar on base |
| Both connect to | No shared connections on record. | |
| Also connects to | None in our catalog | Gusto |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Every plan (US) | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) | Phone: 24/7 |
| Incidents posted | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page | 1 incident posted on Vagaro's status page in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Vagaro. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.5 / 5 from 263 reviews | 4.7 / 5 from 3,681 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 3.5 / 5 from 717 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 50 | 30 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 15 | 10 |
| Fit: Service business | 90 | 88 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 30 | 15 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 45 | 20 |
| Fit: Online store | 20 | 15 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Square Appointments | Visit Vagaro | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Square Appointments or Vagaro
Homebase Scheduling vs Square AppointmentsHomebase Scheduling vs VagaroCalendly vs Square AppointmentsCalendly vs VagaroJobber vs Square AppointmentsJobber vs VagaroConnecteam vs Square AppointmentsConnecteam vs VagaroBuddy Punch vs Square AppointmentsBuddy Punch vs VagaroAcuity Scheduling vs Square AppointmentsAcuity Scheduling vs VagaroSquare Appointments vs When I WorkSquare Appointments vs SlingSquare Appointments vs SetmoreSquare Appointments vs SimplyBook.meSquare Appointments vs FreshaSquare Appointments vs BooksySquare Appointments vs PlandaySquare Appointments vs ModgeWhen I Work vs VagaroSling vs VagaroSetmore vs VagaroVagaro vs SimplyBook.meVagaro vs FreshaVagaro vs BooksyVagaro vs PlandayVagaro vs Modge