Acuity Scheduling vs Square Appointments
Two scheduling tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Square Appointments costs less for a six-person team.
Square Appointments fits retail shop.
Acuity Scheduling fits agency or studio.Square Appointments suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Client booking with intake forms, packages, and payments | Free booking with unlimited staff calendars and Square payments |
| Starting price | From $16/mo | Free |
| Six-person team | $27/mo | $0/mo |
| Plans | Starter $16/mo (1 calendar); Standard $27/mo (6); Premium $55/mo (36), billed annually (monthly $20/$34/$69) | Free $0/mo per location; Plus $49/mo per location; Premium $149/mo per location; in-person 2.6% + 15¢ on Free (2.5%/2.4% on Plus/Premium); online 3.3% + 30¢ on Free |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free tier |
| Free trial | 7 days | — |
| Users | 1-36 calendars by plan | Unlimited staff calendars |
| Both connect to | No shared connections on record. | |
| Also connects to | None in our catalog | None in our catalog |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | None listed | Every plan (US) |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: Monday to Friday 4:00 AM to 8:00 PM ET · Email: 24/7 | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) |
| Incidents posted | 7 incidents posted on Squarespace's status page in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 3 marked major or critical by Squarespace. Status page | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.8 / 5 from 5,771 reviews | 4.5 / 5 from 263 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 3.6 / 5 from 688 reviews | Not listed |
| Fit: Retail shop | 35 | 50 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 15 | 15 |
| Fit: Service business | 92 | 90 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 55 | 30 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 50 | 45 |
| Fit: Online store | 20 | 20 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Acuity Scheduling | Visit Square Appointments | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Acuity Scheduling or Square Appointments
Homebase Scheduling vs Acuity SchedulingHomebase Scheduling vs Square AppointmentsCalendly vs Acuity SchedulingCalendly vs Square AppointmentsJobber vs Acuity SchedulingJobber vs Square AppointmentsConnecteam vs Acuity SchedulingConnecteam vs Square AppointmentsBuddy Punch vs Acuity SchedulingBuddy Punch vs Square AppointmentsAcuity Scheduling vs When I WorkAcuity Scheduling vs SlingAcuity Scheduling vs SetmoreAcuity Scheduling vs VagaroAcuity Scheduling vs SimplyBook.meAcuity Scheduling vs FreshaAcuity Scheduling vs BooksyAcuity Scheduling vs PlandayAcuity Scheduling vs ModgeSquare Appointments vs When I WorkSquare Appointments vs SlingSquare Appointments vs SetmoreSquare Appointments vs VagaroSquare Appointments vs SimplyBook.meSquare Appointments vs FreshaSquare Appointments vs BooksySquare Appointments vs PlandaySquare Appointments vs Modge