Square Appointments vs When I Work

Two scheduling tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • Square Appointments costs less for a six-person team.
  • When I Work fits retail shop, restaurant or café, trades or contractor.
  • Square Appointments fits service business, agency or studio.
CompareSquare AppointmentsBlockWhen I WorkWhen I Work
In one lineFree booking with unlimited staff calendars and Square paymentsShift scheduling and time clock from $2.50 a user
Starting priceFreeFrom $2.50/person
Six-person team$0/mo$15/mo
PlansFree $0/mo per location; Plus $49/mo per location; Premium $149/mo per location; in-person 2.6% + 15¢ on Free (2.5%/2.4% on Plus/Premium); online 3.3% + 30¢ on FreeEssentials $2.50/user/mo; Pro $5/user/mo; Premium $8/user/mo
Pricing modelFree tierFree trial
Free trial—14 days
UsersUnlimited staff calendarsPer user
Both connect toNo shared connections on record.
Also connects toNone in our catalogGusto, Rippling, QuickBooks Payroll, OnPay, Square Payroll
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people
Available inUS · UK · CA · AUUS
Phone supportEvery plan (US)None listed
Live chatPlans not statedPlans not stated
Support hoursPhone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only)Web form: Monday-Friday: 7 A.M. to 9 P.M. Central Standard Time, Saturday-Sunday: 9 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. Central Standard Time · Live chat: Monday-Friday: 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. Central Standard Time, Saturday-Sunday: 9 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. Central Standard Time
Incidents posted14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page0 incidents posted on When I Work's status page in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026. Status page
Capterra score4.5 / 5 from 263 reviews4.5 / 5 from 1,300 reviews
Trustpilot scoreNot listed4.1 / 5 from 7 reviews (few reviews)
Fit: Retail shop5085
Fit: Restaurant or café1588
Fit: Service business9065
Fit: Agency or studio3020
Fit: Trades or contractor4570
Fit: Online store2025
Why people pick it
  • Free plan with unlimited staff
  • Payments and POS built in
  • Cheap per user
  • Easy shift swaps
Where it falls short
  • No-show fees need Plus
  • Tied to Square payments
  • No free plan
  • Time clock features need Pro
Visit Square Appointments Visit When I Work

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices

More comparisons with Square Appointments or When I Work

Every scheduling comparison