Square Appointments vs Booksy

Two scheduling tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • Square Appointments costs less for a six-person team.
  • Square Appointments fits retail shop, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
  • Square Appointments suits teams past ten people.
  • Booksy: One plan with every feature.
CompareSquare AppointmentsBlockBooksyBooksy
In one lineFree booking with unlimited staff calendars and Square paymentsBarber and salon booking for $29.99 a month
Starting priceFreeFrom $29.99/mo + $20/extra person
Six-person team$0/mo$130/mo
PlansFree $0/mo per location; Plus $49/mo per location; Premium $149/mo per location; in-person 2.6% + 15¢ on Free (2.5%/2.4% on Plus/Premium); online 3.3% + 30¢ on Free$29.99/mo plus tax, all features; extra team members $20/mo each; optional Boost 30% of a new client's first visit (max $100); card fees 2.49% + 10¢ on the reader, 2.69% + 30¢ keyed; 14-day trial
Pricing modelFree tierFree trial
Free trial—14 days
UsersUnlimited staff calendars1 included
Both connect toNo shared connections on record.
Also connects toNone in our catalogNone in our catalog
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 people · 11–50 peopleJust me · 2–10 people
Available inUS · UK · CA · AUUS · UK
Phone supportEvery plan (US)Plans not stated (UK)
Live chatPlans not statedNone listed
Support hoursPhone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only)Not published
Incidents posted14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page0 incidents posted on Booksy's status page in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026. Status page
Capterra score4.5 / 5 from 263 reviews4.4 / 5 from 482 reviews
Fit: Retail shop5020
Fit: Restaurant or café1510
Fit: Service business9085
Fit: Agency or studio3010
Fit: Trades or contractor4515
Fit: Online store2010
Why people pick it
  • Free plan with unlimited staff
  • Payments and POS built in
  • One plan with every feature
  • Client marketplace
Where it falls short
  • No-show fees need Plus
  • Tied to Square payments
  • $20 per extra team member
  • Boost fee on new clients
Visit Square Appointments Visit Booksy

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices

More comparisons with Square Appointments or Booksy

Every scheduling comparison