Buddy Punch vs Square Appointments
Two scheduling tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Square Appointments costs less for a six-person team.
Buddy Punch fits retail shop, restaurant or café, trades or contractor, online store.Square Appointments fits service business.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Time clock with GPS, photos, and payroll export | Free booking with unlimited staff calendars and Square payments |
| Starting price | From $19/mo + $4.99/person | Free |
| Six-person team | $48.94/mo | $0/mo |
| Plans | $19/mo base + Starter $4.99/user/mo; Pro $6.99/user/mo (adds scheduling); Advanced $12.99/user/mo, billed annually (monthly $5.99/$7.99/$13.99) | Free $0/mo per location; Plus $49/mo per location; Premium $149/mo per location; in-person 2.6% + 15¢ on Free (2.5%/2.4% on Plus/Premium); online 3.3% + 30¢ on Free |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free tier |
| Free trial | 14 days | — |
| Users | Per user | Unlimited staff calendars |
| Both connect to | No shared connections on record. | |
| Also connects to | Gusto, Rippling, QuickBooks Payroll | None in our catalog |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · CA · UK · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | None listed | Every plan (US) |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Not published | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) |
| Incidents posted | 0 incidents posted on Buddy Punch's status page in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026. Status page | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.8 / 5 from 1,131 reviews | 4.5 / 5 from 263 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.7 / 5 from 92 reviews | Not listed |
| Fit: Retail shop | 80 | 50 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 78 | 15 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 90 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 30 | 30 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 88 | 45 |
| Fit: Online store | 30 | 20 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Buddy Punch | Visit Square Appointments | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
Buddy Punch: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with Buddy Punch or Square Appointments
Homebase Scheduling vs Buddy PunchHomebase Scheduling vs Square AppointmentsCalendly vs Buddy PunchCalendly vs Square AppointmentsJobber vs Buddy PunchJobber vs Square AppointmentsConnecteam vs Buddy PunchConnecteam vs Square AppointmentsBuddy Punch vs Acuity SchedulingBuddy Punch vs When I WorkBuddy Punch vs SlingBuddy Punch vs SetmoreBuddy Punch vs VagaroBuddy Punch vs SimplyBook.meBuddy Punch vs FreshaBuddy Punch vs BooksyBuddy Punch vs PlandayBuddy Punch vs ModgeAcuity Scheduling vs Square AppointmentsSquare Appointments vs When I WorkSquare Appointments vs SlingSquare Appointments vs SetmoreSquare Appointments vs VagaroSquare Appointments vs SimplyBook.meSquare Appointments vs FreshaSquare Appointments vs BooksySquare Appointments vs PlandaySquare Appointments vs Modge