Square POS vs Loyverse
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Square POS fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
Square POS suits teams past ten people.
Loyverse: Free core POS.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free POS with pay-as-you-go processing | Free POS app for cafes and small shops, with paid add-ons |
| Starting price | Free | Free |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $0/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $320/mo | Your own card processor |
| Plans | Free $0/mo: 2.6% + 15¢ per tap, dip, or swipe; Plus $49/mo per location: 2.5% + 15¢; Premium $149/mo per location: 2.4% + 15¢ | POS free; Employee management $25/mo per store ($250/yr); Advanced inventory $25/mo per store ($250/yr); integrations free; card fees set by your processor |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Both connect to | Akaunting | |
| Also connects to | QuickBooks Online, Xero, Zoho Books, Kashoo, ZipBooks, Bench | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Every plan (US) | Not looked up yet |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Every paid plan; plans not stated |
| Support hours | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) | Live chat: 24/7 |
| Incidents posted | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page | 2 incidents posted on Loyverse's status page, which covers all Loyverse products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 2 marked major or critical by Loyverse. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 3,039 reviews | 4.8 / 5 from 458 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 3.1 / 5 from 106 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 95 | 78 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 85 | 75 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 45 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 20 | 10 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 60 | 30 |
| Fit: Online store | 55 | 30 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Square POS | Visit Loyverse | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Square POS or Loyverse
Square POS vs ToastSquare POS vs Shopify POSSquare POS vs SumUpSquare POS vs Lightspeed RestaurantSquare POS vs HelcimSquare POS vs KORONA POSSquare POS vs CloverSquare POS vs SpotOnSquare POS vs TouchBistroSquare POS vs eHopperToast vs LoyverseShopify POS vs LoyverseSumUp vs LoyverseLightspeed Restaurant vs LoyverseHelcim vs LoyverseLoyverse vs KORONA POSLoyverse vs CloverLoyverse vs SpotOnLoyverse vs TouchBistroLoyverse vs eHopper