Buddy Punch vs When I Work
Two scheduling tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
When I Work costs less for a six-person team.
When I Work fits restaurant or café.
Buddy Punch fits service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Time clock with GPS, photos, and payroll export | Shift scheduling and time clock from $2.50 a user |
| Starting price | From $19/mo + $4.99/person | From $2.50/person |
| Six-person team | $48.94/mo | $15/mo |
| Plans | $19/mo base + Starter $4.99/user/mo; Pro $6.99/user/mo (adds scheduling); Advanced $12.99/user/mo, billed annually (monthly $5.99/$7.99/$13.99) | Essentials $2.50/user/mo; Pro $5/user/mo; Premium $8/user/mo |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free trial |
| Free trial | 14 days | 14 days |
| Users | Per user | Per user |
| Both connect to | Gusto, Rippling, QuickBooks Payroll | |
| Also connects to | No others on record | OnPay, Square Payroll |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people |
| Available in | US · CA · UK · AU | US |
| Phone support | None listed | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Not published | Web form: Monday-Friday: 7 A.M. to 9 P.M. Central Standard Time, Saturday-Sunday: 9 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. Central Standard Time · Live chat: Monday-Friday: 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. Central Standard Time, Saturday-Sunday: 9 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. Central Standard Time |
| Incidents posted | 0 incidents posted on Buddy Punch's status page in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026. Status page | 0 incidents posted on When I Work's status page in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.8 / 5 from 1,131 reviews | 4.5 / 5 from 1,300 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.7 / 5 from 92 reviews | 4.1 / 5 from 7 reviews (few reviews) |
| Fit: Retail shop | 80 | 85 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 78 | 88 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 65 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 30 | 20 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 88 | 70 |
| Fit: Online store | 30 | 25 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Buddy Punch | Visit When I Work | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
Buddy Punch: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with Buddy Punch or When I Work
Homebase Scheduling vs Buddy PunchHomebase Scheduling vs When I WorkCalendly vs Buddy PunchCalendly vs When I WorkJobber vs Buddy PunchJobber vs When I WorkConnecteam vs Buddy PunchConnecteam vs When I WorkBuddy Punch vs Acuity SchedulingBuddy Punch vs Square AppointmentsBuddy Punch vs SlingBuddy Punch vs SetmoreBuddy Punch vs VagaroBuddy Punch vs SimplyBook.meBuddy Punch vs FreshaBuddy Punch vs BooksyBuddy Punch vs PlandayBuddy Punch vs ModgeAcuity Scheduling vs When I WorkSquare Appointments vs When I WorkWhen I Work vs SlingWhen I Work vs SetmoreWhen I Work vs VagaroWhen I Work vs SimplyBook.meWhen I Work vs FreshaWhen I Work vs BooksyWhen I Work vs PlandayWhen I Work vs Modge