Brex vs Expensify
Two expense management tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Brex costs less for a six-person team.
Expensify fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
Brex fits online store.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Cards, expenses, and travel for funded companies | Receipt scanning and reimbursements that employees tolerate |
| Starting price | Free | From $5/person |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $30/mo |
| Plans | Essentials free; Premium $12/user/mo; Enterprise custom | Free for individuals; Collect $5/member/mo; Control custom pricing, as low as $9/active member/mo |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Per user |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | |
| Also connects to | Puzzle | No others on record |
| Team size | 11–50 people · 51–200 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people |
| Available in | US | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Every plan |
| Support hours | Live chat: 24/7 · Phone: 24/7 | Live chat: 24/7 · Email: 24/7 · Phone: 24/7 · Video call: 24/7 |
| Incidents posted | 10 incidents posted on Brex's status page, which covers all Brex products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 10 marked major or critical by Brex. Status page | 5 incidents posted on Expensify's status page, which covers all Expensify products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by Expensify. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.5 / 5 from 139 reviews | 4.5 / 5 from 1,393 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 1.8 / 5 from 576 reviews | 4.7 / 5 from 1,286 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 40 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 35 | 50 |
| Fit: Service business | 65 | 85 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 80 | 85 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 45 | 80 |
| Fit: Online store | 80 | 60 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Brex | Visit Expensify | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Brex or Expensify
Ramp vs BrexRamp vs ExpensifyBrex vs BILL Spend & ExpenseBrex vs Zoho ExpenseBrex vs Sage Expense ManagementBrex vs ShoeboxedBrex vs NavanBrex vs RydooBrex vs MileIQBrex vs NeatBrex vs EverlanceExpensify vs BILL Spend & ExpenseExpensify vs Zoho ExpenseExpensify vs Sage Expense ManagementExpensify vs ShoeboxedExpensify vs NavanExpensify vs RydooExpensify vs MileIQExpensify vs NeatExpensify vs Everlance