Brex vs Shoeboxed
Two expense management tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Brex costs less for a six-person team.Shoeboxed fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
Brex fits agency or studio, online store.
Brex suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Cards, expenses, and travel for funded companies | Mail in your paper receipts and get them scanned |
| Starting price | Free | From $8.08/mo |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $66.42/mo |
| Plans | Essentials free; Premium $12/user/mo; Enterprise custom | Starter $97/yr or $9/mo (3 users, 50 scans/mo); Pro $297/yr or $29/mo (5 users, 250); Plus $797/yr or $79/mo (10 users, 1,000); Paper Plus $1,997/yr (10 users); more users on a custom plan; 30-day refund |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | 3 on Starter |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | |
| Also connects to | Puzzle | Wave, Bench |
| Team size | 11–50 people · 51–200 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US | US |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | Pro and up |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: 24/7 · Phone: 24/7 | Phone: Monday-Friday 9-5 ET, Monday through Friday 9-6 ET |
| Incidents posted | 10 incidents posted on Brex's status page, which covers all Brex products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 10 marked major or critical by Brex. Status page | We found no public status page for Shoeboxed. |
| Capterra score | 4.5 / 5 from 139 reviews | 4.4 / 5 from 227 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 1.8 / 5 from 576 reviews | 2.8 / 5 from 3 reviews (few reviews) |
| Fit: Retail shop | 40 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 35 | 50 |
| Fit: Service business | 65 | 78 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 80 | 70 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 45 | 82 |
| Fit: Online store | 80 | 50 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Brex | Visit Shoeboxed | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Brex or Shoeboxed
Ramp vs BrexRamp vs ShoeboxedBrex vs ExpensifyBrex vs BILL Spend & ExpenseBrex vs Zoho ExpenseBrex vs Sage Expense ManagementBrex vs NavanBrex vs RydooBrex vs MileIQBrex vs NeatBrex vs EverlanceExpensify vs ShoeboxedBILL Spend & Expense vs ShoeboxedZoho Expense vs ShoeboxedSage Expense Management vs ShoeboxedShoeboxed vs NavanShoeboxed vs RydooShoeboxed vs MileIQShoeboxed vs NeatShoeboxed vs Everlance