Expensify vs Zoho Expense
Two expense management tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Zoho Expense costs less for a six-person team.
Expensify: Works with any card.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Receipt scanning and reimbursements that employees tolerate | Receipt scanning and expense reports from $3 a user |
| Starting price | From $5/person | From $3/person |
| Six-person team | $30/mo | $18/mo |
| Plans | Free for individuals; Collect $5/member/mo; Control custom pricing, as low as $9/active member/mo | Free up to 3 users (20 scans/user/mo); Standard $3/user/mo; Premium $5/user/mo, billed annually (monthly $4/$6) |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | 14 days |
| Users | Per user | Up to 3 free |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | |
| Also connects to | No others on record | Zoho Books |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | Standard and up |
| Live chat | Every plan | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: 24/7 · Email: 24/7 · Phone: 24/7 · Video call: 24/7 | Email: 24 hours a day from Monday to Friday · Phone: 24 hours a day from Monday to Friday |
| Incidents posted | 5 incidents posted on Expensify's status page, which covers all Expensify products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by Expensify. Status page | Zoho has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.5 / 5 from 1,393 reviews | 4.6 / 5 from 1,228 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.7 / 5 from 1,286 reviews | Not listed |
| Fit: Retail shop | 55 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 50 | 50 |
| Fit: Service business | 85 | 80 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 85 | 82 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 80 | 75 |
| Fit: Online store | 60 | 55 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Expensify | Visit Zoho Expense | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Expensify or Zoho Expense
Ramp vs ExpensifyRamp vs Zoho ExpenseBrex vs ExpensifyBrex vs Zoho ExpenseExpensify vs BILL Spend & ExpenseExpensify vs Sage Expense ManagementExpensify vs ShoeboxedExpensify vs NavanExpensify vs RydooExpensify vs MileIQExpensify vs NeatExpensify vs EverlanceBILL Spend & Expense vs Zoho ExpenseZoho Expense vs Sage Expense ManagementZoho Expense vs ShoeboxedZoho Expense vs NavanZoho Expense vs RydooZoho Expense vs MileIQZoho Expense vs NeatZoho Expense vs Everlance