Squarespace Commerce vs Square Online

Two e-commerce tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • Squarespace Commerce costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
  • Square Online fits retail shop, restaurant or café.
  • Squarespace Commerce fits service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor.
  • Square Online suits teams past ten people.
CompareSquarespace CommerceSquarespaceSquare OnlineBlock
In one lineBeautiful site builder with a store attachedFree online store that runs on your Square account
Starting priceFrom $19/moFree
Six-person team$19/mo$0/mo
On $10,000 of card sales$359/mo$370/mo
PlansBasic $19/mo billed yearly ($25 monthly; 2.9% + 30¢ plus a 2% transaction fee); Core $29/mo (2.9% + 30¢); Plus $49/mo (2.7% + 30¢); Advanced $99/mo (2.5% + 30¢), billed yearlyFree (online cards 3.3% + 30¢); Plus $49/mo per location (2.9% + 30¢); Premium $149/mo per location adds real-time shipping rates; 1.5% extra on non-US cards
Pricing modelFree trialFree tier
Free trial14 days30 days
UsersUnlimited contributorsNo per-seat fee
Both connect toMailchimp
Also connects toQuickBooks Online, FreshBooks, MailerLite, ActiveCampaignKlaviyo
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 peopleJust me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people
Available inUS · UK · CA · AUUS · UK · CA · AU
Phone supportNot looked up yetEvery plan (US)
Live chatPlans not statedPlans not stated
Support hoursLive chat: Monday - Friday: 4:00AM to 8:00PM EST · Email: 24 hours a day 7 days a weekPhone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only)
Incidents posted7 incidents posted on Squarespace's status page, which covers all Squarespace products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 4 marked major or critical by Squarespace. Status page14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page
Capterra score4.6 / 5 from 3,431 reviews4.6 / 5 from 332 reviews
Fit: Retail shop5580
Fit: Restaurant or café6085
Fit: Service business8055
Fit: Agency or studio7515
Fit: Trades or contractor5030
Fit: Online store6565
Why people pick it
  • Templates look good out of the box
  • Site and store on one bill
  • Free plan with pickup, delivery, and shipping
  • Same account as Square POS
Where it falls short
  • Weak inventory and shipping tools
  • Paid plans are charged per location
  • Checkout must use Square payments
Visit Squarespace Commerce Visit Square Online

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $75 average sale. How we calculate prices

More comparisons with Squarespace Commerce or Square Online

Every e-commerce comparison