Squarespace Commerce vs Big Cartel
Two e-commerce tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Big Cartel costs less for a six-person team.
Big Cartel fits retail shop, online store.
Squarespace Commerce fits restaurant or café, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Beautiful site builder with a store attached | Simple store for artists and makers, free up to 5 products |
| Starting price | From $19/mo | Free |
| Six-person team | $19/mo | $0/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $359/mo | Your own card processor |
| Plans | Basic $19/mo billed yearly ($25 monthly; 2.9% + 30¢ plus a 2% transaction fee); Core $29/mo (2.9% + 30¢); Plus $49/mo (2.7% + 30¢); Advanced $99/mo (2.5% + 30¢), billed yearly | Gold free (5 products); Platinum $15/mo (50 products, custom domain); Diamond $30/mo (500 products, abandoned-cart emails); 20% off yearly ($12/$24); no Big Cartel selling fees, card processing about 2.9% + 30¢ |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free tier |
| Free trial | 14 days | 7 days |
| Users | Unlimited contributors | Not listed |
| Both connect to | Mailchimp | |
| Also connects to | QuickBooks Online, FreshBooks, MailerLite, ActiveCampaign | Omnisend |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Not looked up yet | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: Monday - Friday: 4:00AM to 8:00PM EST · Email: 24 hours a day 7 days a week | Live chat: 24/7 · Email: 24/7 |
| Incidents posted | 7 incidents posted on Squarespace's status page, which covers all Squarespace products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 4 marked major or critical by Squarespace. Status page | Big Cartel has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 3,431 reviews | 4.2 / 5 from 16 reviews (few reviews) |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 4.7 / 5 from 441 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 55 | 70 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 60 | 15 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 20 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 75 | 15 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 50 | 10 |
| Fit: Online store | 65 | 85 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Squarespace Commerce | Visit Big Cartel | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $75 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Squarespace Commerce or Big Cartel
Shopify vs Squarespace CommerceShopify vs Big CartelSquarespace Commerce vs SubblySquarespace Commerce vs SpocketSquarespace Commerce vs WooCommerceSquarespace Commerce vs BigCommerceSquarespace Commerce vs EcwidSquarespace Commerce vs Square OnlineSquarespace Commerce vs SellfySquarespace Commerce vs TeachableSquarespace Commerce vs VolusionSquarespace Commerce vs Shift4ShopSquarespace Commerce vs PrintifySubbly vs Big CartelSpocket vs Big CartelWooCommerce vs Big CartelBigCommerce vs Big CartelEcwid vs Big CartelBig Cartel vs Square OnlineBig Cartel vs SellfyBig Cartel vs TeachableBig Cartel vs VolusionBig Cartel vs Shift4ShopBig Cartel vs Printify