WooCommerce vs Square Online
Two e-commerce tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
WooCommerce costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.Square Online fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
WooCommerce fits agency or studio, online store.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free store plugin for WordPress, if you run your own hosting | Free online store that runs on your Square account |
| Starting price | From $25/mo | Free |
| Six-person team | $25/mo | $0/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $355/mo | $370/mo |
| Plans | Plugin free; hosting about $25-350/mo; extensions $29-299/yr each; WooPayments 2.9% + 30¢ for US cards | Free (online cards 3.3% + 30¢); Plus $49/mo per location (2.9% + 30¢); Premium $149/mo per location adds real-time shipping rates; 1.5% extra on non-US cards |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | 30 days |
| Users | Unlimited | No per-seat fee |
| Both connect to | Mailchimp, Klaviyo | |
| Also connects to | QuickBooks Online, Xero, Freshmarketer, Akaunting, MailerLite, ActiveCampaign, Omnisend, Sender +2 more | No others on record |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Not looked up yet | Every plan (US) |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Not published | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) |
| Incidents posted | Automattic has a public status page. Status page | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page |
| Capterra score | Not listed | 4.6 / 5 from 332 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 2.1 / 5 from 144 reviews | Not listed |
| Fit: Retail shop | 65 | 80 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 25 | 85 |
| Fit: Service business | 40 | 55 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 55 | 15 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 20 | 30 |
| Fit: Online store | 85 | 65 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit WooCommerce | Visit Square Online | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $75 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with WooCommerce or Square Online
Shopify vs WooCommerceShopify vs Square OnlineSquarespace Commerce vs WooCommerceSquarespace Commerce vs Square OnlineSubbly vs WooCommerceSubbly vs Square OnlineSpocket vs WooCommerceSpocket vs Square OnlineWooCommerce vs BigCommerceWooCommerce vs EcwidWooCommerce vs Big CartelWooCommerce vs SellfyWooCommerce vs TeachableWooCommerce vs VolusionWooCommerce vs Shift4ShopWooCommerce vs PrintifyBigCommerce vs Square OnlineEcwid vs Square OnlineBig Cartel vs Square OnlineSquare Online vs SellfySquare Online vs TeachableSquare Online vs VolusionSquare Online vs Shift4ShopSquare Online vs Printify