Squarespace Commerce vs WooCommerce
Two e-commerce tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
WooCommerce costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
WooCommerce fits retail shop, online store.
Squarespace Commerce fits restaurant or café, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor.
WooCommerce suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Beautiful site builder with a store attached | Free store plugin for WordPress, if you run your own hosting |
| Starting price | From $19/mo | From $25/mo |
| Six-person team | $19/mo | $25/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $359/mo | $355/mo |
| Plans | Basic $19/mo billed yearly ($25 monthly; 2.9% + 30¢ plus a 2% transaction fee); Core $29/mo (2.9% + 30¢); Plus $49/mo (2.7% + 30¢); Advanced $99/mo (2.5% + 30¢), billed yearly | Plugin free; hosting about $25-350/mo; extensions $29-299/yr each; WooPayments 2.9% + 30¢ for US cards |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free tier |
| Free trial | 14 days | — |
| Users | Unlimited contributors | Unlimited |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Mailchimp, MailerLite, ActiveCampaign | |
| Also connects to | FreshBooks | Xero, Klaviyo, Freshmarketer, Akaunting, Omnisend, Sender, GetResponse, Kit |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Not looked up yet | Not looked up yet |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: Monday - Friday: 4:00AM to 8:00PM EST · Email: 24 hours a day 7 days a week | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 7 incidents posted on Squarespace's status page, which covers all Squarespace products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 4 marked major or critical by Squarespace. Status page | Automattic has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 3,431 reviews | Not listed |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 2.1 / 5 from 144 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 55 | 65 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 60 | 25 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 40 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 75 | 55 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 50 | 20 |
| Fit: Online store | 65 | 85 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Squarespace Commerce | Visit WooCommerce | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $75 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Squarespace Commerce or WooCommerce
Shopify vs Squarespace CommerceShopify vs WooCommerceSquarespace Commerce vs SubblySquarespace Commerce vs SpocketSquarespace Commerce vs BigCommerceSquarespace Commerce vs EcwidSquarespace Commerce vs Big CartelSquarespace Commerce vs Square OnlineSquarespace Commerce vs SellfySquarespace Commerce vs TeachableSquarespace Commerce vs VolusionSquarespace Commerce vs Shift4ShopSquarespace Commerce vs PrintifySubbly vs WooCommerceSpocket vs WooCommerceWooCommerce vs BigCommerceWooCommerce vs EcwidWooCommerce vs Big CartelWooCommerce vs Square OnlineWooCommerce vs SellfyWooCommerce vs TeachableWooCommerce vs VolusionWooCommerce vs Shift4ShopWooCommerce vs Printify