Big Cartel vs Square Online

Two e-commerce tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • Square Online fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
  • Big Cartel fits online store.
  • Square Online suits teams past ten people.
CompareBig CartelBig CartelSquare OnlineBlock
In one lineSimple store for artists and makers, free up to 5 productsFree online store that runs on your Square account
Starting priceFreeFree
Six-person team$0/mo$0/mo
On $10,000 of card salesYour own card processor$370/mo
PlansGold free (5 products); Platinum $15/mo (50 products, custom domain); Diamond $30/mo (500 products, abandoned-cart emails); 20% off yearly ($12/$24); no Big Cartel selling fees, card processing about 2.9% + 30¢Free (online cards 3.3% + 30¢); Plus $49/mo per location (2.9% + 30¢); Premium $149/mo per location adds real-time shipping rates; 1.5% extra on non-US cards
Pricing modelFree tierFree tier
Free trial7 days30 days
UsersNot listedNo per-seat fee
Both connect toMailchimp
Also connects toOmnisendKlaviyo
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 peopleJust me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people
Available inUS · UK · CA · AUUS · UK · CA · AU
Phone supportNone listedEvery plan (US)
Live chatPlans not statedPlans not stated
Support hoursLive chat: 24/7 · Email: 24/7Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only)
Incidents postedBig Cartel has a public status page. Status page14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page
Capterra score4.2 / 5 from 16 reviews (few reviews)4.6 / 5 from 332 reviews
Trustpilot score4.7 / 5 from 441 reviewsNot listed
Fit: Retail shop7080
Fit: Restaurant or café1585
Fit: Service business2055
Fit: Agency or studio1515
Fit: Trades or contractor1030
Fit: Online store8565
Why people pick it
  • Free plan and no selling fees
  • Quick to set up
  • Free plan with pickup, delivery, and shipping
  • Same account as Square POS
Where it falls short
  • Product caps of 5, 50, and 500
  • Abandoned-cart emails only on the $30 plan
  • Paid plans are charged per location
  • Checkout must use Square payments
Visit Big Cartel Visit Square Online

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $75 average sale. How we calculate prices

More comparisons with Big Cartel or Square Online

Every e-commerce comparison