WooCommerce vs Big Cartel
Two e-commerce tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Big Cartel costs less for a six-person team.
WooCommerce fits restaurant or café, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor.
WooCommerce suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free store plugin for WordPress, if you run your own hosting | Simple store for artists and makers, free up to 5 products |
| Starting price | From $25/mo | Free |
| Six-person team | $25/mo | $0/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $355/mo | Your own card processor |
| Plans | Plugin free; hosting about $25-350/mo; extensions $29-299/yr each; WooPayments 2.9% + 30¢ for US cards | Gold free (5 products); Platinum $15/mo (50 products, custom domain); Diamond $30/mo (500 products, abandoned-cart emails); 20% off yearly ($12/$24); no Big Cartel selling fees, card processing about 2.9% + 30¢ |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | 7 days |
| Users | Unlimited | Not listed |
| Both connect to | Mailchimp, Omnisend | |
| Also connects to | QuickBooks Online, Xero, Klaviyo, Freshmarketer, Akaunting, MailerLite, ActiveCampaign, Sender +2 more | No others on record |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Not looked up yet | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Not published | Live chat: 24/7 · Email: 24/7 |
| Incidents posted | Automattic has a public status page. Status page | Big Cartel has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | Not listed | 4.2 / 5 from 16 reviews (few reviews) |
| Trustpilot score | 2.1 / 5 from 144 reviews | 4.7 / 5 from 441 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 65 | 70 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 25 | 15 |
| Fit: Service business | 40 | 20 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 55 | 15 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 20 | 10 |
| Fit: Online store | 85 | 85 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit WooCommerce | Visit Big Cartel | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $75 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with WooCommerce or Big Cartel
Shopify vs WooCommerceShopify vs Big CartelSquarespace Commerce vs WooCommerceSquarespace Commerce vs Big CartelSubbly vs WooCommerceSubbly vs Big CartelSpocket vs WooCommerceSpocket vs Big CartelWooCommerce vs BigCommerceWooCommerce vs EcwidWooCommerce vs Square OnlineWooCommerce vs SellfyWooCommerce vs TeachableWooCommerce vs VolusionWooCommerce vs Shift4ShopWooCommerce vs PrintifyBigCommerce vs Big CartelEcwid vs Big CartelBig Cartel vs Square OnlineBig Cartel vs SellfyBig Cartel vs TeachableBig Cartel vs VolusionBig Cartel vs Shift4ShopBig Cartel vs Printify