Constant Contact vs ActiveCampaign
Two email marketing tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Constant Contact fits retail shop, restaurant or café, trades or contractor.
ActiveCampaign fits agency or studio, online store.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Email, social posts, and events with live phone support | Email automation for businesses that follow up over weeks |
| Starting price | From $10.20/mo | From $15/mo |
| At 2,500 contacts | Not on record | $39/mo |
| Plans | Starting prices, rising with contacts, billed yearly (15% off): Lite $10.20/mo; Standard $29.75/mo; Premium $68/mo (500 SMS); month to month $12, $35 and $80 | At 1,000 contacts, billed yearly: Starter $15/mo (1 user, 5 actions per automation); Plus $49 (landing pages, unlimited actions); Pro $79 (3 users). Starter billed yearly rises to $39 at 2,500 contacts, $79 at 5,000, $149 at 10,000. Monthly $19/$59/$99 |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free trial |
| Free trial | — | 14 days |
| Users | Not listed | 1 on Starter and Plus; 3 on Pro |
| Both connect to | HubSpot CRM, Shopify, BigCommerce | |
| Also connects to | Volusion, Shift4Shop | Pipedrive, Squarespace Commerce, WooCommerce, Teachable1,059+ listed by the vendor |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US, CA) | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Every paid plan |
| Support hours | Phone: Monday to Friday: 8am - 8pm ET; Saturday: 10am - 6pm ET, Saturday: 10am - 6pm ET, 3pm - 10pm UK · Live chat: Monday to Friday: 3am - 8pm ET · Video call: Monday to Friday: 10am - 4pm ET | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 4 incidents posted on Constant Contact's status page, which covers all Constant Contact products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 1 marked major or critical by Constant Contact. Status page | 11 incidents posted on ActiveCampaign's status page, which covers all ActiveCampaign products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 7 marked major or critical by ActiveCampaign. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.3 / 5 from 2,953 reviews | 4.6 / 5 from 2,571 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.0 / 5 from 2,116 reviews | 2.7 / 5 from 1,450 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 80 | 65 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 78 | 55 |
| Fit: Service business | 82 | 82 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 65 | 85 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 65 | 55 |
| Fit: Online store | 65 | 82 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Constant Contact | Visit ActiveCampaign | |
List-size prices are the vendor's published price for 2,500 contacts. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Constant Contact or ActiveCampaign
Mailchimp vs Constant ContactMailchimp vs ActiveCampaignKlaviyo vs Constant ContactKlaviyo vs ActiveCampaignCampaign Monitor vs Constant ContactCampaign Monitor vs ActiveCampaignSimpleTexting vs Constant ContactSimpleTexting vs ActiveCampaignHello Bar vs Constant ContactHello Bar vs ActiveCampaignFreshmarketer vs Constant ContactFreshmarketer vs ActiveCampaignMailerLite vs Constant ContactMailerLite vs ActiveCampaignConstant Contact vs OmnisendConstant Contact vs EmailOctopusConstant Contact vs SenderConstant Contact vs GetResponseConstant Contact vs KitActiveCampaign vs OmnisendActiveCampaign vs EmailOctopusActiveCampaign vs SenderActiveCampaign vs GetResponseActiveCampaign vs Kit