Help Scout vs Zendesk
Two customer support tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Zendesk costs less for a six-person team.
Help Scout fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Shared inbox that feels like email, plus a help center | Full ticketing across email, chat, phone, and social |
| Starting price | From $25/person | From $19/person |
| Six-person team | $150/mo | $114/mo |
| Plans | Free (5 users, 100 contacts/mo); Standard $25/user/mo; Plus $45/user/mo; Pro $75/user/mo; 16% off annual | Support Team $19/agent/mo; Suite Team $55/agent/mo; Suite Professional $115/agent/mo, billed annually (monthly $25/$69/$149) |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free trial |
| Free trial | 15 days | 14 days |
| Users | Per user; 5 on free | Per agent |
| Integrations | Shopify, HubSpot, Slack, Jira, 100+ | 1,500+ apps |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people | 11–50 people · 51–200 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | None listed | Plans not stated (US) |
| Live chat | None listed | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Not published | Phone: 8am-6pm Eastern Time, Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) |
| Incidents posted | 6 incidents posted on Help Scout's status page in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Help Scout. Status page | Zendesk has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 226 reviews | 4.4 / 5 from 4,094 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 3.0 / 5 from 40 reviews | 1.8 / 5 from 742 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 60 | 50 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 40 | 30 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 65 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 75 | 60 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 55 | 40 |
| Fit: Online store | 90 | 85 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Help Scout | Visit Zendesk |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
Help Scout: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with Help Scout or Zendesk
Help Scout vs GorgiasHelp Scout vs TidioHelp Scout vs FreshdeskHelp Scout vs FreshserviceHelp Scout vs FreshchatHelp Scout vs LandbotHelp Scout vs WatiHelp Scout vs Zoho DeskHelp Scout vs CrispHelp Scout vs LiveAgentHelp Scout vs tawk.toHelp Scout vs FrontHelp Scout vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Help Scout vs TypewiseHelp Scout vs TextlineZendesk vs GorgiasZendesk vs TidioZendesk vs FreshdeskZendesk vs FreshserviceZendesk vs FreshchatZendesk vs LandbotZendesk vs WatiZendesk vs Zoho DeskZendesk vs CrispZendesk vs LiveAgentZendesk vs tawk.toZendesk vs FrontZendesk vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Zendesk vs TypewiseZendesk vs Textline