Zendesk vs tawk.to
Two customer support tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
tawk.to costs less for a six-person team.
tawk.to fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor.Zendesk: Handles any channel.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Full ticketing across email, chat, phone, and social | Free live chat for your website |
| Starting price | From $19/person | Free |
| Six-person team | $114/mo | $0/mo |
| Plans | Support Team $19/agent/mo; Suite Team $55/agent/mo; Suite Professional $115/agent/mo, billed annually (monthly $25/$69/$149) | Free live chat, ticketing, and knowledge base with unlimited agents; add-ons per site: remove branding $29/mo, AI Assist from $29/mo; hired chat agents $1/hr |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free |
| Free trial | 14 days | — |
| Users | Per agent | Unlimited |
| Integrations | 1,500+ apps | WordPress, Shopify, Wix, Squarespace, WooCommerce |
| Team size | 11–50 people · 51–200 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US) | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Every plan |
| Support hours | Phone: 8am-6pm Eastern Time, Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) | Live chat: 24/7 |
| Incidents posted | Zendesk has a public status page. Status page | 0 incidents posted on tawk.to's status page in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.4 / 5 from 4,094 reviews | 4.6 / 5 from 345 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 1.8 / 5 from 742 reviews | 2.2 / 5 from 108 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 50 | 65 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 30 | 50 |
| Fit: Service business | 65 | 75 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 60 | 70 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 40 | 60 |
| Fit: Online store | 85 | 82 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Zendesk | Visit tawk.to |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Zendesk or tawk.to
Help Scout vs ZendeskHelp Scout vs tawk.toZendesk vs GorgiasZendesk vs TidioZendesk vs FreshdeskZendesk vs FreshserviceZendesk vs FreshchatZendesk vs LandbotZendesk vs WatiZendesk vs Zoho DeskZendesk vs CrispZendesk vs LiveAgentZendesk vs FrontZendesk vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Zendesk vs TypewiseZendesk vs TextlineGorgias vs tawk.toTidio vs tawk.toFreshdesk vs tawk.toFreshservice vs tawk.toFreshchat vs tawk.toLandbot vs tawk.toWati vs tawk.toZoho Desk vs tawk.toCrisp vs tawk.toLiveAgent vs tawk.totawk.to vs Fronttawk.to vs Text (formerly LiveChat)tawk.to vs Typewisetawk.to vs Textline