Zendesk vs Text (formerly LiveChat)
Two customer support tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Zendesk: Handles any channel.
Text (formerly LiveChat): Polished chat widget.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Full ticketing across email, chat, phone, and social | Website live chat with AI replies, from $19 a user |
| Starting price | From $19/person | From $19/person |
| Six-person team | $114/mo | $114/mo |
| Plans | Support Team $19/agent/mo; Suite Team $55/agent/mo; Suite Professional $115/agent/mo, billed annually (monthly $25/$69/$149) | Per user, billed yearly: Essential $19 ($25 monthly, 10 AI resolutions/mo); Growth $79 ($99, 200 AI resolutions); Enterprise by quote; extra AI resolutions $49.50 per 50; 14-day trial, no card |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free trial |
| Free trial | 14 days | 14 days |
| Users | Per agent | Per user |
| Integrations | 1,500+ apps | Shopify, WordPress, HubSpot, Salesforce, Zendesk |
| Team size | 11–50 people · 51–200 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US) | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Phone: 8am-6pm Eastern Time, Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) | Live chat: 24/7/365 support on all plans (channel not named) |
| Incidents posted | Zendesk has a public status page. Status page | 4 incidents posted on Text's status page, which covers all Text products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 1 marked major or critical by Text. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.4 / 5 from 4,094 reviews | 4.6 / 5 from 1,729 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 1.8 / 5 from 742 reviews | 2.1 / 5 from 10 reviews (few reviews) |
| Fit: Retail shop | 50 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 30 | 35 |
| Fit: Service business | 65 | 70 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 60 | 68 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 40 | 40 |
| Fit: Online store | 85 | 85 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Zendesk | Visit Text (formerly LiveChat) |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Zendesk or Text (formerly LiveChat)
Help Scout vs ZendeskHelp Scout vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Zendesk vs GorgiasZendesk vs TidioZendesk vs FreshdeskZendesk vs FreshserviceZendesk vs FreshchatZendesk vs LandbotZendesk vs WatiZendesk vs Zoho DeskZendesk vs CrispZendesk vs LiveAgentZendesk vs tawk.toZendesk vs FrontZendesk vs TypewiseZendesk vs TextlineGorgias vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Tidio vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Freshdesk vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Freshservice vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Freshchat vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Landbot vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Wati vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Zoho Desk vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Crisp vs Text (formerly LiveChat)LiveAgent vs Text (formerly LiveChat)tawk.to vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Front vs Text (formerly LiveChat)Text (formerly LiveChat) vs TypewiseText (formerly LiveChat) vs Textline